image preview




207 Morris Avenue was built by John George McIntosh in 1892, and is known as the John G. McIntosh House. McIntosh purchased the plot of land in 1887 for $10 and built his home on the East Side. The house is pictured on the left of the photo. Unlike many of the Federal Revivalist houses in East Providence, the John G. McIntosh House is categorized as a cottage with a sloping mansard-roof. After its initial construction, it had Queen Anne features added, such as a bay window and a curved oriel window. The mansard-roof is an example of the French Baroque Revivalist style. Taken in approximately 1970, the photo showcases a process of exterior house renovation occurring on the East Side. The house next to the McIntosh House is being stripped of stucco and re-outfitted with siding.


"207 Morris Ave." Mary A. Gowdey Library of House Histories. Providence Preservation Society. 2016. Web. 1 February 2016. Sanderson, Edward F., and Wm McKenzie Woodward. Providence: A Citywide Survey of Historical Resources. Rhode Island: Rhode Island Historical Preservation Commission, 1986. 201. Print.


This object from the Chester E. Smolski photographic slides and publications, housed by the Rhode Island College Special Collections, and any of its digital surrogates are the intellectual property of Rhode Island College. This digital object is protected by copyright and/or related rights. The digital material presented here is licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. This content can be used, shared, or adapted for educational and scholarly purposes. For permissions to use this item please contact All uses must include appropriate attribution.

Creator 1 Role


Creator 2 Dates


Creator 2 Role


Recommended Citation

Chester E. Smolski photographic slides and publications, MSS-0041, Special Collections, James P. Adams Library, Rhode Island College.


urban redevelopment, housing, suburbs